compartmentalizing

I recently signed up for a two-week reading group that’s like a bookclub-English class hybrid. Here’s how it works: Pay $20, get a selected book in the mail, read half of it, show up at local independent bookstore for a professor-led discussion, repeat.

I chose a Tuesday morning time and a study of Pride & Prejudice, which means I was a solid decade younger than my fellow readers and the room held a lot of estrogen. (In fact, it was all women save for one sweet man who declared, “my wife has quoted this damn movie to me enough times over the years that I thought I’d read the book to see what all the fuss is about!”) I can’t say I expected anything less, but I didn’t expect to enjoy it this much. Like, I’m totally swept up in a pastoral, romantic, idealistic Jane Austen land lately … and so, a quote:

“Reflection must be reserved for solitary hours; whenever she was alone, she gave way to it as the greatest relief; and not a day went by without a solitary walk, in which she might indulge in all the delight of unpleasant recollections.” 

So cliche, I know. But, hey, why eschew cliches just because they’re cliche?! Does anybody else tend to get lost up in your own brain, or is it just me? Strategies for returning to reality welcome.

[photo]

Leave a Reply

