on trust

I’m a pretty avid yogi. This does not mean I’m particularly bendy (and I still can’t land a handstand), but I make it to a class at least once and often more like three or four times a week, which I think puts me squarely in the dedicated to my practice category.

This year, I’ve been helping my studio‘s owner write content for her monthly newsletters. Namely, she has themes for teachers and students to focus on each month and I’m helping her flesh them out. This has turned out to be an enormously rewarding endeavor on a personal level – it’s sort of like when we were given journal entry themes in high school. I’d like to share March’s theme with you:

TRUST. Now that the novelty of a new year has worn off, it’s important to remember what goals you set for yourself but a handful of weeks ago. This month, we will focus on trust. Trust is a firm belief in the reliability, truth, ability, or strength of someone or something. So much of a yoga practice is trusting the process: believing that the movement will strengthen your understanding of your own truth. What will you do with the truth that you discover? To trust is often to relinquish control, which can be daunting and anxiety-provoking. But we know we can return to our breath. We can return to our mat. Do you trust yourself? And then, do you trust others; do you share your truth? In entrusting another being, you acknowledge that we’re all interconnected. Seek to firmly believe in each other and in the rhythm of life. Devote yourself to the process, to the practice, and trust that you can do it. You will do it.

RELATED WORDS: confidence, reliance, faith, belief, hope, devotion


What really resonates with me is the relationship between relinquishing control and trusting others. I’ve never really thought about it that way, but it’s true! And also trusting the process. That is so hard for me.

I’d love to hear your thoughts!

[photo]

Leave a Reply

